Good, better, best. Three questions you should ask yourself after every performance

Whilst currently working with a lot of young adults I have noticed that they are overly self-critical of their performance and even more so when they do not get the result they desire. Whilst self-reflection of performance is key it needs to be completed in a way that enables you to progress and not regress. Performance is multifactorial, evaluate the tactical, technical and mental aspects. I am currently reading an insightful book called The Champion’s Mind by Jim Afremow, in his book he states you should ask yourself three questions.

  • What did I do that was good?
  • What needs to get better?
  • What changes should I make to become my best?

Whether your performance was worthy of first place or last the same three questions apply. There is no such thing as perfection, you need to give yourself credit and make plans towards achieving your best so you can actually improve performance.

Now the next key step to remember it’s not about how much practice time you put in; it’s about what you put into the practice time. Stay true to your answers in question 3.

Example

What did I do that was good?

  • I arrived early and was prepared for the event.
  • I had a good nights sleep and a nutritional breakfast.
  • I was focused and had a positive mindset before the event.


What needs to get better?

  •  I lost my balance a few times and struggled to keep my body shape


What changes should I make to become my best?

  •  Need to record and review my performance next time so i can identify if it is a technical issue.
  • Talk to a gym instructor for exercise tips on core and glute strength.
Leave a Reply

